Thou Shalt Not talk about Aishwarya Rai-Bachchan in the same sentence as Kareena Kapoor without starting a fan war?

Kareena Kapoor in HEROINE (Credit UTV)

Okay so you’ve all seen the above picture (a still from the upcoming film ‘Heroine’) right? It was released earlier in the week  by UTV pictures in promotion of the film and when I saw the still I immediately thought of the late great Gloria Swanson in the epic Hollywood film ‘Sunset Boulevard’ in which she plays the character of a “film heroine” who has fallen from the grace of her prime and dreams of making a triumphant comeback.

Gloria Swanson in Sunset Blvd. (Credit: Paramount Pictures)

I did not mention that there were any similarities nor did I insinuate that anyone was inspired by anyone else but lo! behold! I logged on to social media today only to find hate messages awaiting and impending fan wars between the Aishwarya Rai-Bachchan and Kareena Kapoor fan camps because of my comments regarding a picture? I mean, for shame are people being really serious about this? Or was it because I posted this GIF in retrospect?

Aishwarya Rai in the song ‘Sholon si’ from the movie Shabd (Credit: Pritish Nandy Communications)

As an after thought, it (the GIF) was the second thing to come to mind upon viewing the newly released still from ‘HEROINE’ but I didn’t even mention her name, the die-hard fans did. Crimony! Notice how the fact that I said the first thing I thought of when I saw the still was perhaps the most famous line ever to be uttered on celluloid in the history of film “All right, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up” from Sunset Blvd was completely eclipsed by the GIF of someone else?  Wouldn’t you be flattered if you were a Kareena Kapoor fan upon hearing the Gloria Swanson compliment?

(Credit: Paramount Pictures)

It should be noted that Aishwarya Rai-Bachchan had been slated to play the role later filled by Kareena Kapoor when the former had to drop out of the film in 2011 due to her pregnancy.

VW

9 thoughts on “Thou Shalt Not talk about Aishwarya Rai-Bachchan in the same sentence as Kareena Kapoor without starting a fan war?

  1. Was it on PV? Anyway I’m not surprised people didn’t pay attention to the Sunset Boulevard reference as a lot of them don’t even know their classics… BUT the slightest occasion to begin a fans war never pass unoticed… Anyway what was the use of publishing the Aishwarya gif? Everybody could have predict the future conflict, and even if Kareena’s pic does remind us of the gif, I don’t know if any parallel between the two can be really relevant…

  2. Uh… sorry what was that again? Hard to concentrate with that sassy clip from Shabd shimmying on my screen! Hmmm well if it’s distracting enough to make a fan lose the plot then you can imagine what it does to those poor anti-fans… pity them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

